English muffins
=============== 2021-02-13


Comment: English muffins are indispensable for eggs benedicts, our traditionnal new year's day and Valentine's day breakfast.
Commercial stuff being... well, what it is, it's not an option. So after a couple of more or less successfull attemps, here is a version that I hope is as close to the English way as possible. There are 2 schools on the web, the milk/egg one and the plain water one. My feeling is that the water one is probably the right one. Then some recipes are entirely made in the fry pan (or griddle), others entirely in the oven and finally, what I believe is right, browned in a pan then finished in the oven. The tricky part is after the second rise, to transfer the buns in the pan without deflating them. The method used here, suggested on the site referenced below is the easiest to get a good result. As for the yeast, use less and let rise for a longer time to develop a better taste (if you have the time) 7g ~1h, 5 g ~2h (dry yeast) or 3 times this of fresh yeast: 21g ~1h, 15 g ~2h. FOr the second rise, as they were not too sticky, I covered them with a humid towel, otherwise, use a plastic film (not tight).

Inspired from:
target = "_blank">How to make English muffins
another site worth looking at: English muffin recipe


Ingredients:
------------

for 8 muffins

200 ml water (or milk)
15 g of fresh yeast (see text)
5 g sugar or honey (1 teaspoon)
20 g butter
300 g flour
1 flat teaspoon salt


Preparation:
------------

Warm the water up (35 to 40C) and divide the water in 2 small bowls. Add the butter to the first one and melt the butter. Add the sugar and the yeast to the other one and dissolve the yeast. Let activate ~10 mn.
Put all the ingredients in the mixing bowl.
Use the mixer with the dough hook, or a spatula or your hands.
Knead for ~5 to 6 mn.
Let rest in a bowl under a humid towel for 1 to 2 hours (the dough should double in volume).
The dough should be rather sticky.

On a well floured table, cut the dough in 8 pieces (about 80 g each), make into balls, place on an individual small piece of parchement paper with LOTS of flour evenly spread, larger than the bun as they will spread a bit when you flatten them. Any bit of dough not floured WILL STICK !!!, and let rest in a warm place (warm oven), covered, until again doubled in size 60 to 90 mn.

In a fry pan (or a griddle) heated to ~160C [320F], using frying oil, slide the buns off the parchement paper and fry for 3 to 4 mn. Flip them over, flatten them a bit and fry for another 3 to 4 mn.

Place them on an oven tray and cook them in the oven for 10 mn @ 180C.

Let cool on a cooling rack.

English muffins
=============== 2021-02-13


Commentaire: Les « English muffins » sont indispensables pour les oeufs bénédicts, notre petit déjeuner traditionnel du Nouvel An et de la Saint Valentin. Les produits commerciaux étant ... eh bien, ce qu'ils sont, ce n'est pas une option. Donc, après quelques essais plus ou moins réussis, voici une version qui, je l'espère, est aussi proche que possible de l'original anglais. Là il y a 2 écoles sur le web, celle du lait/oeuf et celle de l'eau simplement. Mon sentiment est que l'eau est probablement la bonne. Ensuite, certaines recettes sont entièrement faites dans la poêle (ou la plaque), d'autres entièrement au four et enfin, ce que je crois être juste, doré dans une poêle puis fini au four. La partie la plus délicate est après la deuxième levée, pour transférer les petits pains dans la poêle sans les dégonfler. La méthode utilisée ici, suggérée sur le site référencé ci-dessous est la plus simple pour obtenir un bon résultat. Quant à la levure, en utiliser moins et laisser lever plus longtemps pour développer un meilleur goût (si vous avez le temps) 7g ~1h, 5 g ~2h (levure sèche) ou 3 fois ça en levure fraîche : 21g ~1h, 15 g ~2h. Pour la seconde levée, comme ils n'étaient pas trop collants, je les ai couverts d'un linge humide sans problème. Sinon, les fariner et les couvrir d'un film plastique (lâche).  

Inspiré de:
target = "_blank">How to make English muffins
un autre site à explorer: English muffin recipe


Ingrédients :
-------------

pour 8 muffins

200 ml d'eau (ou de lait)
15 g de levure fraîche (voir texte)
5 g de sucre ou de miel (1 cuillère à café)
20 g de beurre
300 g de farine
1 cuillère à café rase de sel


Préparation :
-------------

Chauffer l'eau (35 à 40C) et la diviser entre 2 petits bols. Ajouter le beurre au premier et le laisser fondre. Ajouter le sucre et la levure au second, dissoudre la levure. Laisser activer pour ~10 mn.
Mettre tous les ingrédients dans le bol du mixer.
Utiliser le mixer avec le crochet pétrisseur, ou une spatule ou vos mains.
Pétrir pendant ~5 à 6 mn.
Laisser reposer dans un bol sous une serviette humide pendant 1 à 2 heures (la pâte doit doubler de volume).
La pâte doit être plutôt collante.

Sur une table bien farinée, couper la pâte en 8 pâtons (environ 80 g chacun), faire des boules, placer sur un petit morceau individuel de papier sulfurisé avec BEAUCOUP de farine uniformément répartie, plus grande que le pâton car ils s'étaleront un peu lorsque vous les aplatirez. Tout morceau de pâte non fariné COLLERA !!!, et laisser reposer dans un endroit chaud (four tiêde), couverts, jusqu'à doubler de taille 60 à 90 mn.

Dans une poêle (ou une plaque chauffante) chauffée à ~160C, en utilisant de l'huile à frire, glisser les petits pains dans la poêle et les faire frire pendant 3 à 4 mn. Les retourner, les aplatir un peu et frire encore 3 à 4 mn.

Les placer sur une plaque à four et les faire cuire au four 10 mn à 180C.

Laisser refroidir sur une grille.